I Went for a Walk

I went for a walk

In the woods

To see what I could find.

No cell phone service

Denied me

The ability to speak

No radio signal

Denied me

My ability to hear

No data hookup

Denied me

My ability to see.

 

Agitated in unfamiliarity

Feeling lost

Unable to breathe

I wanted to run

But needed to stay

To see what I could find.

 

Slowly it emerged

The breeze

Created a ballet of leaves

For me to see

Birds singing to their mates

Created music

For me to hear

Small animals skittering

All around me

Invited me to speak.

 

The lack of bustle

And the sounds

Of manmade busy-ness

Opened my mind,

My heart,

My soul.

 

I went for a walk

In the woods

To see what I could find

And I found me.

©2017 M. G. Cooper

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

